Curriculum in England

Our nurseries in England are required to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. Your child is unique – you know that! – and we use the EYFS framework to take every child’s unique qualities into account when planning their day.
Within the learning and development section of the EYFS there are seven areas of learning and development which we use to shape the educational programmes in our nurseries. Whilst all areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected, the framework splits the areas of learning into ‘Prime’ and ‘Specific’ areas.

Prime Areas of Learning and Development

The three prime areas reflect the key skills and capacities that all children need to develop and learn effectively, and become ready for school. These three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, are:
• Communication and Language;
• Physical development; and
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

For our youngest children we focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas. As children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas the balance will shift towards a more equal focus on all prime and specific areas of learning.

Specific Areas of Learning and Development

We are also required to support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:
• Literacy;
• Mathematics;
• Understanding the World; and
• Expressive Arts and Design.

Each area of learning and development must be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.
We recognise each child’s emerging needs and interests, guiding their development through warm, positive interaction. As children grow older, and as their development allows, it is expected that the balance will gradually shift towards more activities led by adults, to help children prepare for more formal learning, ready for Year 1.
If you would like to know more information about the EYFS: Click here

Curriculum in Scotland

Pre-Birth to Three

In our Scottish nurseries the national guidance document ‘Pre-Birth to Three: Positive Outcomes for Scotland’s Children and Families’ is used by staff to ensure they are providing the best experiences for children under the age of three.

Curriculum for Excellence

All our nurseries in Scotland use the Curriculum for Excellence to ensure children over three experience a broad education that develops skills for learning, for life and work, with a real focus on literacy and numeracy, and promotes an active and healthy lifestyle.

Getting it right for every child

For further information on Getting It Right For Every Child (GIRFEC), click here

Curriculum in Wales

Birth to Three Matters

Our nursery in Wales follows the Birth to Three Matters framework for all children under three years of age.

Foundation Phase

Our nursery in Wales follows the ‘Foundation Phase’ which is the statutory curriculum for all 3 to 7 year olds in Wales.